Skip to content

Thoughts On A Tuesday

May 22, 2007

I’ve been pondering vocation this morning. And avocation. And work, and career and what it means to be a breadwinner. And I’ve come to the same place that I usually reside. Work is work. I cannot define myself by it, nor do I wish to. Work is something I do in order to be with those I love. Nothing more, nothing less. This will, of course, demand more thought. It always does. But where….whence….wherefore will these new thoughts come?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2007 9:41 am

    You can choose to define yourself by your work or your “off-work” choices, or a combination of both. For me, spending 8 – 12 hours a day being a “bread-winner” is a lot of awake time to not want to have passion and drive in, which is defining in itself. As long as you remain true to your values and principles, defining yourself by any means is never wrong.

    signed – “J the Imposter, waiting to be found out, so I can stay home and bake fresh blueberry muffins every morning for the devouring masses.”

  2. May 22, 2007 12:23 pm

    You know pretty well who you are and what you do and why you do what you do, which is a lot more than most people will ever know about themselves. You don’t need me to tell you that you are a lot more than your job. Ah well, again you know more than me…

    signed – “T, who would happily stay home and eat J’s blueberry muffins all day.”

  3. David permalink
    May 22, 2007 5:30 pm

    The only thought I’d offer is that while work shouldn’t define you completely… it (like everything else we do) does define you proportionate to your investment in it.

    For example, Nursing has a clear overtone of care and service. Working for the National Park Service might indicate your interest in the environment. Every job is an exchange of both pleasant and unpleasant aspects which must be considered before the whole can be judged.

    However, this isn’t the whole of you. But many more intelligent people before me have spoken words to this effect, “you’re going to be spending time and energy at work, it might as well be something you enjoy/believe in.”

    Don’t let work rule you. Just don’t fool yourself into thinking that you don’t exist in those 40 hours a week.

  4. May 25, 2007 5:10 am

    I spent years, from winter 93 till about 2000 doing as little working for money as possible, so I could kick around Prague with a gaggle of funloving nutcases, as well as around Eastern Europe and the balkans getting kicks, trying not to step on landmines, or getting one too many diseases. It was all a blast and I wouldn’t trade any of it (well there’s one or two things I could do without). But eventually work, making a living, catch up to you. Without it you end up defining yourself as somone who avoids real work for fun stuff, after a while it gets to where you can’t do, or afford, the fun stuff, and that hurts your self image. So I’ve been working my butt off for 7 years, to get back to where I can not work and have fun. Kind of a relovling door.

Leave a Reply

