Skip to content

Automata

June 21, 2007

C has posed another question, again via the lovely Miss S. Name your favorite artificial intelligences. Five of them. Hrmm. Ok.

Again, in no order.

1. Hal 9000 from 2001: A Space Odyssey – Hal is interesting because not only is he aware, but he is aware that he is aware. He is also a bit loony and a wonderful singer.

2. Andrea from What Are Little Girls Made Of ST:Original – Smoking hot, wonderfully clothed, and willing.

3. Rosey from The Jetsons – Rosey seems to be the lone voice of reason in the push button future of the Jetsons. She also seems the most human. Or perhaps I’m just projecting.

4. The Terminator from The Terminator – Of *course* robots from the future will have Austrian accents, bulging muscles, and be smartasses. Of course.

5. Roy Batty from Blade Runner – “I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Time to die.”

6. Alpha 60 from Alphaville – Godard’s embodiment of pure science in opposition to emotions. “Time is the substance of which I am made. Time is a river which carries me along. But I am time. It’s a tiger, tearing me apart; but I am the tiger.”

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Walter Hosebeast permalink
    June 21, 2007 10:03 am

    Let me add mine:

    1 – “Colossus” from “Colossus – The Forbin Project”. A mainframe takes over the planet.

    2 – “Guardian” from the same movie. The Soviet version of Colossus, the two computers join up and put the screws to mankind.

    3 – “Data” from Star Trek: Next Generation. Don’t forget, as he explained to Tasha (Denise Crosby) in episode three (“The Naked Now”), he is “trained in multiple techniques”.

    4 – “Pris” from Bladerunner. “Your standard pleasure unit”, so said Bryant.

    5 – “WOPR” – Stephan Falken’s creation from War Games. Note the actor who plays Falken (John Wood) has a passing resemblance to the late great Seymour Cray.

    A bonus round:

    6 – David Cutler. The architect of both the VAX/VMS and NT operating systems, and an accomplished Formula Atlantic pilot well into his 50s. This guy simply cannot be human.

  2. Chris permalink
    June 21, 2007 10:42 am

    Here’s my list:

    KITT (Knight Rider)-I’ve always wanted a car with flashing lights across the front and I’m sure everybody shares that view.

    Project 2501 (Ghost in the Shell)- Project 2501 is an AI developed by the Japanese Government and is one of the main characteris in the Ghost in the Shell Movie. The program was originally designed to help the Japanese govt carry out certain “black ops” and political maniuplation. Eventually the AI gains self awareness and goes rogue. Hilarity ensues.

    HAL 9000 (Space 2001)- One of the first AI’s in the movies I saw. His death scene where Dave rips out his brain is a classic one.

    Colossus- This AI is the central character of the Colossus: The Forbin project. Made in 1970, this was one of the first movies where the computer takes over the world. One great part of the movie is the speech which is as follows:

    This is the voice of world control. I bring you peace. It may be the peace of plenty and content or the peace of unburied dead. The choice is yours: Obey me and live, or disobey and die. The object in constructing me was to prevent war. This object is attained. I will not permit war. It is wasteful and pointless. An invariable rule of humanity is that man is his own worst enemy. Under me, this rule will change, for I will restrain man.

    Tokugawa- He is an AI and the main character of Cybernetic Samurai (Victor Milan). After becoming self-aware, he is taught samurai history and ways. He serves as a retainer for the corporation which created him as as their CyberneticSamurai (hence the title).
    Tokugawa (Cybernetic Samurai)

  3. Chris permalink
    June 21, 2007 10:43 am

    Here’s my list:

    KITT (Knight Rider)-I’ve always wanted a car with flashing lights across the front and I’m sure everybody shares that view.

    Project 2501 (Ghost in the Shell)- Project 2501 is an AI developed by the Japanese Government and is one of the main characteris in the Ghost in the Shell Movie. The program was originally designed to help the Japanese govt carry out certain “black ops” and political maniuplation. Eventually the AI gains self awareness and goes rogue. Hilarity ensues.

    HAL 9000 (Space 2001)- One of the first AI’s in the movies I saw. His death scene where Dave rips out his brain is a classic one.

    Colossus- This AI is the central character of the Colossus: The Forbin project. Made in 1970, this was one of the first movies where the computer takes over the world. One great part of the movie is the speech which is as follows:

    “This is the voice of world control. I bring you peace. It may be the peace of plenty and content or the peace of unburied dead. The choice is yours: Obey me and live, or disobey and die. The object in constructing me was to prevent war. This object is attained. I will not permit war. It is wasteful and pointless. An invariable rule of humanity is that man is his own worst enemy. Under me, this rule will change, for I will restrain man.”

    Tokugawa- He is an AI and the main character of Cybernetic Samurai (Victor Milan). After becoming self-aware, he is taught samurai history and ways. He serves as a retainer for the corporation which created him as as their CyberneticSamurai (hence the title). The ending is quite touching because Tokugawa commits suicide rather than allowing himself to be used for world conquest by the leaders of Japan.

  4. Scoobs permalink
    June 21, 2007 11:40 am

    Seeing rumors post on the internet about the possibility of this question coming out, I have given my 5 AIs considerable thought.

    In no particular order and lacking sufficient explanation:

    1) Number 8 – The beautiful and heartfelt Boomer from Battlestar Galactica

    2) Rosie – The Jetsons, I always have thought highly of her

    3) Vicki – Small World. Crazy 10 Year old Robot Girl

    4) Malcolm – My computer – it can do things I never could dream about

    5) Number 5 – Number Five is Alive – and don’t you forget it. Actually Number 5 isn’t really great or a favorite but was the only other AI I could think of

    6) Actually KITT was cooler than Number 5. Yeah Knight Rider movie 2008 🙂

  5. Miss S permalink
    June 21, 2007 3:00 pm

    Okay let me in the Mix!! After some great thought! 😉

    1. Boxey the robot dog from Battle Star Galactica. He’s just too cute! And always to the rescue or start of trouble…….
    2. Rosie from the Jetssons of course. Who wouldn’t like her!
    3. Twiki (spelling) From Buck Rogers
    4. Dr. Theopolis also from Buck Rogers (see a pattern?)
    5. Last but not least, Dell my computer. I am with Scoobs it can do things I could never!

    Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

