Skip to content

Mega. Meta.

June 26, 2007

I grew up watching wrestling with my father. It was a dad and son thing. A tinge of violence and a whole lot of soap. In the years since I’ve come to understand professional “wrasslin'” as first the soap opera for blue collar men, and then increasingly, as the soap opera for college educated internet types.

Wrestlers die early. They just do. It is a very very physical sort of theatre they are doing. Not to mention drug addiction, 350 days a year of travel, depression, etc.

I’m not sure what to do with the news that Chris Benoit and his family are dead. The police are only saying that it is “bizarre” and a “murder/suicide” and that no gun was used. I always liked Chris Benoit as a performer. Seemed dedicated to his “craft,” to his art.

It makes me sad. Sad for my father’s generation. Sad for some reason I can’t even put my finger on. Not an enduring sadness, to be sure. Like the sadness when I hear that a favorite performer has passed. Like another part of my childhood has fallen away.

— Update —

He killed both wife and son. Strangled her with a power chord, smothered him with a garbage bag. Hung himself. Beh. Sad. Shitty. Horrible.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    June 26, 2007 1:01 pm

    I can’t believe that guy would do that to his family. I can only imagine what kind of problems he must have been having.

    Of course, it’s not as sad as what happened to the Von Erich family.

  2. David permalink
    June 26, 2007 1:22 pm

    no comment goodness? apparently my comment has been eaten. which reminds me, I’m hungry.

  3. hrothgarrr permalink*
    June 26, 2007 2:02 pm

    Try again, David? I’d love to hear your take on this.

  4. Lori permalink
    June 26, 2007 2:44 pm

    I read somewhere the cops found steroids in the house…maybe an extreme case of ‘roid rage? So, so sad…

  5. Chris permalink
    June 26, 2007 6:04 pm

    I was looking up Chris Benoit on Wikipedia and was checking links to all of the wrestlers he was involved with previously. It is amazing how many of them are dead from suicides, accidents, drug overdoses, heart problems.

    I can’t believe that Scott Hall is alive though.

  6. hrothgarrr permalink*
    June 27, 2007 8:48 am

    Scott Hall *and* Kevin Nash are still alive. Figure that one out.

  7. David permalink
    June 28, 2007 1:36 pm

    Mostly I’m just sad. I wrote a really neat post about it and just can’t get the same things to come out right now. I’ve had a hard time with wrestling recently because without a Brad, it just isn’t the same.

    Some things Uncle Mic said about his family and why he was semi-retiring really changed the game for me. “Wrestling with Shadows” though more than even Jake the Snake’s story, really cut me. The whole wrestling vibe has gotten too voyeuristic for me.

    Like watching a wreck as you go along the freeway.

  8. David permalink
    June 28, 2007 1:37 pm

    I want to make sure I say this. I dig these guys. I dig wrestling.

    I’m just not sure what to do about the real pain and suffering in their lives.

  9. David permalink
    June 29, 2007 5:24 pm

    By the way, the whole thing is mega creepy about the post. I’m not sure I by the “anonymous” confession that it was an untimely joke.

Leave a Reply

