Skip to content

The Hats of Peru

October 10, 2007

I really dislike the RGJ’s food critic, mostly for his swipes at Peg’s for not being “representative” of Reno. Regardless, I do keep track of his work. Recently coming up for review was Machu Picchu, Reno’s only Peruvian restaurant. Bin and I went and checked it out last night. We were literally the only ones in the restaurant, which is a shame. We both had steak based dishes. The meat was delicious and the sides, although carb heavy, were divine: fried yucca, tasty rice, fried plantains, and french fries.

I give it a strong “recommend.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2007 9:19 am

    Next time we’re in town… we’re there man! South American countries know how to prepare steak. And fried plantains rock.

  2. Onryspice permalink
    October 10, 2007 12:11 pm

    Well, when you put it that way (fried this, fried that) no wonder I liked it!!

  3. David permalink
    October 10, 2007 5:55 pm

    It almost feels like you could pass through a world of eco-systems with a day-hike, but I know it’s hundreds of miles.

    I’ve never had the guts to go for proper ethnic restaurants. I’m always so desperate to have a “good experience” when I take the time and money to go out, that even though I almost always like ethnic food (in fact usually better than Amero-bland chain resturants) I never get around to eating it.

Leave a Reply

