Skip to content

Raquel, Space Girlie

January 17, 2008

We all could use some more Raquel Welch doing a space girl dance in our lives. God bless us, everyone.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cuz permalink
    January 17, 2008 1:54 pm

    Kinda makes me regret not becoming an astronaut.

  2. Shane permalink
    January 17, 2008 10:58 pm

    So, Brad, just curious, given how much you’ve studied communities, memes, etc… (and I’m not saying this to pick on you, this posting simply serves as a good discussion point) What do you think is appropriate in terms of acknowledging other sites. Meaning, we both saw this on Boing Boing today. And, they in turn, linked it because someone brought it their attention. And so it goes. So, I’m just curious, what do you think is appropriate in terms of when to say how or where you came across something? Since this video is in the most public of places, does it matter to note that you stumbled upon this because of Youtube…. or, what if YT simply gave you cause to remember it and you had seen it a year ago? Its all so odd, isn’t it? 🙂

  3. January 18, 2008 6:55 am

    I always wondered what happened to my favorite bikini underwear . . . I never connected the night Raquel split before I woke up, with its disappearance, until now.

  4. hrothgarrr permalink*
    January 18, 2008 8:44 am

    I will, on occasion, attribute something. Often I don’t. This not being an academic endeavor, I’m not sure it’s all that important. I guess I see my role as a hub of some sort. I gather data from a variety of sources, filter it in my own special way, then re-distribute what I think is cool or interesting or noteworthy or whatnot.

    Web 2.0 is theoretically about the interplay between groups just like this. Everything is referential to something else, except when it isn’t. Often I think the cool “ah ha” moment comes when two people can say to themselves, “ah, I bet I know where he got this.”

    That being said, Boing Boing is a damn fine site. And it feature prominently in my blogroll. I lub it.

  5. Nik permalink
    January 18, 2008 9:05 am

    I think I might be the only female to comment on this post so far. I gotta tell ya….guys, I’m disappointed. Come one….the dance really isn’t all that good,….my high school cheerleading squad was better….and I’ve seen better space girl costumes on TOS. But i’m a girl, I guess I’ll never understand what really makes you boys excited.

    On the other topic…..I think anyone that spends time on the web recognizes that all things are connected. On Cute Overload yesterday there was a video of a puppy dancing around to the Mahnamanah song from the Muppets. In the comments section someone posted the link to the YT video of the Muppets clip of that song. I sent that clip to my husband because we both love the Muppets. He posted the video clip on his blog with a comment about how the song reminds him of how he’s feeling this week. Does that mean that he needs to credit Cute Overload for that post….I don’t think so. Because, I’m sure CO is not the originator….someone else posted it somewhere who reminded someone else about it who posted it on CO. There really is no way to know where it all began so you cannot claim the “source.” Just my Nichols worth

  6. Shane permalink
    January 18, 2008 9:33 am

    @Hroth, I’m not saying you should or should not attribute something. I’m just kind of musing out loud in the direction of someone whom I know thinks about odd things like this, as I do. 🙂

    You’re right, its not academic, so no issue there. Plus, its not like you’re using “original” or “source” material where, even in casual posting/blogging, I think its important to attribute things you are posting. I hate it when people cut/paste shit and don’t link to the source. Granted, this is different. I guess I wondered if it is a blogger’s “courtesy” to at least give a nod to the place you found something, while fulling knowing that 99% of the time, they’re only displaying it because they, in turn, were directed to it or stumbled upon it. After a while you realize its all this self-referential feedback loop where the cachet seems to come from how far toward the front end of that loop you were. I mean, someone linking to “don’t tase me bro” as something they just found, well…

    @Nik, is it a Nicole’s worth? Or Nickel’s worth? 😉 Or is your last name Nichols and that’s the joke I’m missing? If you’re who I think you are, I like “Nicole’s worth” as a nice play on words. To the question I raised, you’re right, its not like they made the video. Its all this feedback loop as I mentioned. I guess, where I’m coming down on this, as I think it through, is that if I blogged, which I don’t, I’d probably at least give an indication of where or how I came across something. In the end, its probably a meh. 🙂

  7. Shane permalink
    January 18, 2008 9:36 am

    Oh, and Nik, RW doesn’t do much for me either. I think for a lot of guys our age or older she fills some association you probably made as an adolescent that the adult, grown up vision of RW doesn’t match, but you just can’t escape the association.

    That said, I think “Happy Days” is a great example of something I thought was just the pinnacle of man’s purpose on earth when I was 10 but upon review in adulthood I can’t believe how utterly utterly horrible it is. And this is long before Fonzie was the first person to jump the shark.

Leave a Reply

