Skip to content

Q: Are We Not Men?

June 26, 2008

Q: Could this be the greatest hair video of all time?
A: Possibly.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2008 12:04 am

    I think it would be but there are two people in the video with no hair, so that kind of disqualifies it from the top spot (OK, so he’s a nice guy and doesn’t want to alienate bald people, but a true hair band wouldn’t do that. No hair no flair.) Also for such a great guitar-riff song where they obviously spent a lot of time getting the guitar sound right on the hot riff, the solo is thin and weak and totally derivative. Or am I just being a kill joy?

  2. hrothgarrr permalink*
    June 27, 2008 7:33 am

    Lenny’s entire career was built on weak and derivative…so that’s not a down point for me. I guess the band member’s hair makes up for quite a few sins.

  3. Cuz permalink
    June 27, 2008 3:21 pm

    Viva la follicle!

  4. June 30, 2008 12:10 am

    I suppose I’m the only one who noticed that Lenny was singing into the wrong side of that Neumann u47…?

  5. June 30, 2008 9:18 am

    Al, that seems like an intentional mix choice to have a guitar without much lower tone. You don’t notice it when the bass is playing, and doing so leaves sonic “room” for the bass to sound big and fat. Not filling it back in for a solo is a little weird, but it helps the song rebuild from the breakdown. I don’t know that as fact, but I’d bet that’s how that sound came to be.

  6. Shane permalink
    July 2, 2008 4:05 pm

    What I can’t stand about this song, and I find it true of most Kravitz stuff that finds its way to my ears, is that the song is the same riff over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over. Seriously, it sounds like about 2 samples that are looped over and over for X minutes.

    Kravitz is, to me, the perfect example of someone who got by w/ almost nothing whatsoever. I’ll give props to talent that is real, even if it’s not my thing (see Prince, Elton John, and in a more minor key, Pantera, most legit rap, etc…), but I find Kravitz void of all talent. His songs are loops of one riff, his lyrics have the heft of a 4th grade hippy. I could swallow it if it was done w/ a wink… ANY WINK, but its not.

    /waves to Brad

  7. July 3, 2008 9:11 am

    It’s called a hook. You might recognize it from something called Pop Music (see Chuck Berry, The Mammas And The Pappas, The Ramones, Smithereens, Daft Punk, etc). But if you hate songs that repeat the best part for effect, you might want to check out something called Prog Rock (not to be confused with Prague Rock). Or Jazz (not to be confused with DJ Jazzy Jeff).

    “I could have eaten a bowl of alphabits and crapped a better interview.” – Peter Boyle as Frank Barone

  8. Shane permalink
    July 3, 2008 10:40 am

    lol, are you sure you know who you’re talking to, Crash? 🙂

    I realize that. And, duh, I realize that the Ramones (for example) use “hooks”. Every great song has a hook. My point would be easier to understand if we were in the same room together. Not because I could beat you to death w/ the microphone of your choice, but because I could demonstrate how Kravitz doesn’t sound so much like a “hook”, but a loop. It never goes anywhere.

    And, as I also indicated, the Ramones did almost everything w/ a wink.

  9. July 7, 2008 9:34 am

    I don’t remember the Ramones winking. Ever.

    I realize that one man’s floor may be another man’s ceiling, and that Kravitz is hardly worth the time we’re spending on him. But repetition is what pop music does, wink or not.

    “Lewis Carroll notwithstanding, the fact that the government has ’said it thrice’ does not make an allegation true.” — U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

  10. Shane permalink
    July 7, 2008 10:03 am

    Well, by winking I meant that they knew they were a twisted form of bubblegum pop, they didn’t have any pretense. I can’t say the same for our current subject.

    Anyhoo… I agree too much time on the subject.

    On another matter. I like how you end your comments with a quote. Here’s one for you.

    “DO NOT TRADE ME PIRACY”

  11. hrothgarrr permalink*
    July 7, 2008 11:55 am

    If you trade me piracy, I will spend the rest of the game tracking you down and killing you. Heh.

  12. July 8, 2008 9:45 am

    “Kelly, I would not trade you Piracy.” He was a genius when it came to lying. And acting. Same difference.

  13. Shane permalink
    July 8, 2008 10:59 am

    The best was seeing him light up a smoke during half-time of an IM basketball game.

Leave a Reply

