Skip to content

Desportes

August 19, 2008

I’m well aware that many of my gentle readers are not sports fans, but I just can’t help myself. I continue to really enjoy the online broadcasts of lesser known sports from the olympics. Last night it was some sort of bicycle thing. About twenty women on bicycles were going round and roung on this indoor, banked curve track made of wood. Every ten laps or so some would break away from the pack (or Peloton for the cycling literate) and sprint. It appears that you get points for being first, second, third, and fourth in these little sprints. I think they did about 100 laps with 10 sprints. I say “appears” because, of course, there is no commentary. I’m pretty sure I was watching the Women’s Point Race. If that is what I was watching it was won by Marianne Vos from Babyloniënbroek, Netherland.

All in all, the Women’s Point Race was not as exciting to me as Handball, but the crowd was REALLY into it. The Cuban fans were going crazy for Yoanka Gonzalez. Again…thanks NBC.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 21, 2008 9:41 am

    Make it full contact and put the participants in the same outfits as women’s beach volleyball… bet more people would watch.

Leave a Reply

