Skip to content

Spoooooooor

September 8, 2008

Gamers (and here I’m speaking of Video Games) are an interesting lot. In the past they have been easily pushed around and rarely coddled. As the hobby, and by reason, the hobbyists have gotten older they’ve demanded more. We want well crafted games, with good controls, a hook or two, and to be left alone with our product. As piracy has come to the forefront, PC game makers have pointed at the masts of pirates off the horizon and screamed, “there goes our profit!!!” before scurrying back to their lairs to come up with a solution.

That “solution” is, more often than not, DRM so Draconian that the RIAA would be proud. Spore, the new release by Will Wright (he of Sim City, Sim Earth, The Sims) has had a DRM scheme that gamers have been bitching about since May and the game was only released this weekend. In response to this scheme, gamers have been review bombing Amazon. As of this morning the Rating of Spore, one of the most highly anticipated releases of the past few years, is at 1.5. Amazing. Ars Technica, in their article about this whole deal, sums it up best:

For developers, the primary goal of DRM is stopping piracy. The problem is that it does that job poorly, and, as always, it’s the legitimate customers who get stuck dealing with the insanity of having to call EA to ask for more installations after their three are used up. And why they’re on hold with EA support, the pirates are enjoying copies of a game that works, every time they want to play it, no matter what they do to their computer.

Interesting times…to be sure….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shane permalink
    September 8, 2008 11:04 am

    DRM is fucking retarded at levels beyond comprehension. It punishes legal users and only encourages piracy. I will never purchase Spore or any other such game, no matter how badly I want it so long as publishers foist this on is.

    There is no DRM that won’t be cracked by some 15 year old with too much time on his hands.

    To the degree that I pirate anything at all, I can tell you there is a direct correlation between my level of piracy and the amount of DRM-laden horseshit CDs, software, games that I have purchased in the past.

  2. David permalink
    September 11, 2008 8:31 am

    My neck was a mess recently (still taking pain meds). My wife, out of her kindness went and bought me Spore and moved my computer over by the couch so I could play while resting my head (which I can’t do at my desk).

    Spore wouldn’t let me play without the net connection. I don’t intend on ever using their Spore-verse, I just want to play the game. For me there was no point in registering except that they wanted to make me do it.

    And what if I want to install Spore on a different computer? Or simply reinstall the OS on my system?

    Great game, really dumb business. What’s weird is copyright violation has never been a problem for SIMs. That is SIMs is the single largest selling game series ever. They’ve made more money than they can spend in their children’s lifetimes. I just don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

