Skip to content

The Art

September 23, 2008

I stumbled upon a little blog like thing of late called The Art of Manliness. My curiosity piqued I read further. The article on rediscovering the barbershop (link) was sublime and well written. What really caught my attention, though, was a piece on the resurgence of calling cards. The calling card was a major part of upper crust social interaction in the 19th and 20th century. It was, quite literally, used when calling upon someone at home. Calling cards, apparently, are making a comeback with a certain set for some very good reasons. If you meet someone out and about and want to exchange information you probably don’t want to give them your biz card…but a card with your personal email, blog info, facebook stuff, etc. makes quite a bit more sense. I’m actually pondering this, even if it’s a bit…much. (link)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Shane permalink
    September 23, 2008 9:57 am

    This may deflate your manliness, but calling cards are actually a great thing for the modern mother. You meet other parents/families/kids at the park, little league, whatever, and the calling card is an easy way to give out your contact information.

    Additionally, shouldn’t be hard to make some calling cards w/ all the tools available these days.

    I always get my hair cut at the barber. Oh and here’s a manliness test for you… if you have to make an appointment, its a salon.

  2. hrothgarrr permalink*
    September 23, 2008 9:59 am

    My barber’s name is Art. And oh sweet jesus there is nothing like a head shave with a straightrazor.

  3. Shane permalink
    September 23, 2008 12:13 pm

    I’ll skip the head shave, but I do wish my barber’s were practiced w/ the straight razor.

    /checks for calling car

  4. Shane permalink
    September 23, 2008 12:13 pm

    DAMN YOU LACK OF EDIT FUNCTIONALITY!

  5. David permalink
    September 23, 2008 2:16 pm

    I love this site. I’ve been shaving the old-fashioned manly way for a while now. My wife got me a classic razor of German manufacture and a real badger hair brush with shaving soap. I highly recommend it.

    Old is new.

  6. September 26, 2008 5:02 pm

    Kari and I made family calling cards years ago. They’re especially handy when meeeting Freshman at church the first couple of weeks when school starts. We feel like part of making new students feel welcome is for them to have someone to contact “if they need anything”.

Leave a Reply

