Skip to content

For The Record

October 1, 2008

The register to vote crew is hard at work here at the U trying to get the young folks geared up to vote. Usually, when they see I’m an old guy, the leave me alone. But this morning a young lady asked me if I was registered. Instantly, for some reason, I was transported back to my first national voting experience. It was a glorious 1988 and this was to be my first presidential election. In the primaries I voted for Jesse Jackson (then a sort of shining star of righteous indignation – just the thing for a righteously indignant young man) but he was not to be the candidate. I remember retreating to the tiny voting booth and punching down the tab for…dear Lord of all people…Mike Dukakis. Sheesh. Of course Bushie Sr. gave ol’ Mike a beatdown. Mike Dukakis gave us a few cultural touch stones: Willie Horton, Zorba the Clerk, and of course…Mike in a tank. Ah..memories.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shane permalink
    October 1, 2008 2:48 pm

    Yes, but could he see Russia from that tank?

    Good lord, its worse than “You Forgot Poland.”

  2. October 5, 2008 8:01 am

    That’s funy I voted for Jessee in the 88 primary too, then for the Dukakster. Missed voting in the 84 election by a month and 10 days but it’s not like it’d have done anygood, I was so unaware and unplugged in that I didn’t even know til the last week or so that Mondale had a female VP candidate. Butthey (there’s that word again) isn’t that what the 80s was all about? Being unaware. ??????????? Who am I and how did I get here?

Leave a Reply

