Skip to content

Folks

October 3, 2008

Back before I was old enough to develop my own musical style preferences, I listened to what my parents had in their LP collection. I suppose, upon reflection, that most of the music was my dad’s. There was some Kate Smith (no thanks), a bunch of ragtime/dixie piano (which I tended to enjoy), a metric ton of Gordon Lightfoot (who I continue to adore), and two Kingston Trio records. The Kingston Trio was one of those bands that is hard to explain without time and place. The lads formed in Palo Alto just out of college and helped Joan Baez and one Bobbie Zimmerman (nee Bob Dylan) spark the late 50’s folk revival in No Cal. It’s all fluff, for the most part, but fluff that I love to an extent. Word comes this morning that Nick Reynolds, one the founding members, has passed away at 75. So…please find below a wonderful video of one of the comedy leaning hits M.T.A. Enjoy please.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

2 Comments leave one →
  1. The Commodore permalink
    October 5, 2008 8:10 am

    I believe this very act was the inspiration for “A Mighty Wind”.

  2. David permalink
    October 7, 2008 10:24 am

    Did I ever tell you I worked sound when KT came to Pepperdine. They messed with my setup right before the performance (swapped around mics and cables for no reason they ever explained to me) and jacked up my already feeble ability to make the crappy sound system in Smother’s Theater work.

Leave a Reply

