Skip to content

Much Respect

October 7, 2008

I felt early on I wasn’t going to be a respectable citizen.

Cormac McCarthy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2008 6:21 am

    At least he had the wherewithal to consider whether or not he’d be a respectable citizen. I never much considered it until I found out some people perceived me as respectable and some didn’t, those who did where not considered respectable by those who didn’t, so really it’s down to point of view. And you can be sure that Cormac McCarthy would never write a sentence like that. Sometimes being respectable isn’t really the respectable thing to do. Drop out and write books. Yeah. I’m all for it. But he never votes, and I just sent in my absentee ballot so maybe he’s better than me. Or maybe he’s just a pessamist. Guess it depends on your point of view.

  2. October 15, 2008 6:22 am

    Pessimist is spelled P-e-s-s-i-m-i-s-t, but if you spell it with an a it’s not such a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

