Skip to content

Bits.

October 16, 2008

As I’m writing this my “digital” music collection stands at 17,892 songs. This is after my monthly download orgy from emusic. What? You don’t have emusic yet? Well, good lord…go sign up. $15 a month for 50 DRM-less tunes. Bitchin’. I’m actually going to move to the $20 a month for 75 tracks. emusic, of course, doesn’t have much of a catalog of high profile acts. The major labels are reticent to have their stuff out there DRM-less. Well, fine…I’ll explore and discover lower profile stuff. I’ve downloaded a wide variety of stuff: Hound Dog Taylor, Neko Case, A Place To Bury Strangers, the Black Angels, Earth, Dave Alvin….

For me, it’s like a candy store full of candy I might have heard of. You can listen to snippets of every track, get reviews, etc. It even does a fair job of recommending stuff to me. It’s not perfect, but I really do look forward to having tracks to download. And at 30 cents or less per track…sheesh…what’s not to like.

The new Thievery Corporation rocks, btw.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

