Skip to content

KMBU

October 22, 2008

Squirrel Bait doing Sun God. KMBU in the house.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    October 22, 2008 9:26 am

    All I remember about KMBU was having a very popular radio show for a semester get canceled because the self-appointed-god-manager finally realized I wasn’t following the play clock thingy. (She only found out because I was stupid enough to leave a play list on the desk, she had not actually ever listened to my show in an entire semester.)

    Because, it was her station. Screw the people who tuned in to listen to my program. Philistines!

  2. hrothgarrr permalink*
    October 22, 2008 9:31 am

    KMBU station managers were notoriously cruel. I wasn’t even a station manager and *I* was cruel. HAH!

  3. October 22, 2008 12:03 pm

    Stupid, delicious, defining Hot Clock. If I caught a format show DJ off clock, I’d call Brad to inflict some cruelty.

  4. October 23, 2008 4:37 am

    I remember Squirl Bait. They still around?

  5. Shane permalink
    October 23, 2008 9:24 am

    I just remember how Brad hated the Christian music I was trying to bring in, even though my philosophy essentially followed the stations in terms of quality of music. 😉 $100 budget BOOYAH!

  6. hrothgarrr permalink*
    October 23, 2008 9:49 am

    Oh…and btw, David. That hot clock thingie was designed mostly by yours truly. 🙂

  7. hrothgarrr permalink*
    October 23, 2008 9:49 am

    Did I *hate* the christian tunes? That might be too harsh a word. Did I severely misunderstand them? Very much so.

  8. David permalink
    October 23, 2008 1:41 pm

    I don’t have a problem with the clock itself. But it doesn’t matter what the format is if what you stick into the format is crap. I understand the vibe of “what a college radio station is for” thinking (mostly giving new bands a place to be heard), and I did play stuff that I thought was good.

    I suppose it would be more accurate to say that I followed the clock in spirit, just not using the set list that went with it. If everything with a yellow dot available was crap, I put in something I put in my own selection to fit.

    It’s not like I was playing Pearl Jam.

    I wouldn’t even know how to judge the goodness or badness of the clock design. So I’m not claiming any vision from God on this one, just avoiding crappy music. And I don’t mean good-crappy, I mean crappy-crappy.

  9. October 27, 2008 7:36 pm

    David, the vast majority of yellow songs were great. But your crappy taste in music (or mine for that matter) isn’t the point. The point is, any radio station gets recognized and appreciated (or hated) because there is a format. If you have a format show, you follow the format to help the audience identify the station and hear the music in that context. There were special shows that didn’t follow the regular format (hence the name “special”), which is where the DJ would design a different kind of format. But even those shows had a distinct format for the same reason. Take an extreme… Jim Ladd’s “free form rock n roll” has limits to define what it is. The reason you got shut down is because you just wanted to do what you wanted to do. Full disclosure: I dated that self-appointed-god-manager. She drank the same clock Kool-Aid the rest of us student director’s did.

Leave a Reply

