Skip to content

Poets

December 29, 2008

The Raw Story has an amazing piece that came out of the recently declassified transcripts of Hank Kissinger’s Secretary of State tenure. Allen Ginsberg, my favorite jewish Buddhist gay poet actually got through to Kissinger in ’71 and suggested to ease tensions over Vietnam that they appear on television together. Naked.

Amazing. Visionary. Hilarious. Absurd. All of those things. But I think it says something about the ’70s that this dialogue was ever even started. We’ve come so far, and regressed just as much.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    December 29, 2008 11:49 am

    Sorry, 10 points for art, minus 1000 for NAMBLA.

  2. January 7, 2009 8:32 am

    I had the pleasure of meeting old Allen several times. First time was on my first ever trip to New York, which had some effect on my moving there (Wow, if you got ot New York famous people talk to you, read your poems, and give you real criticism!) Another time in Prague after a reading I ended up sitting with him and several other friends (of his and mine) outside the toilets in the Bunker club, sharing a bowl, and gabbing pseudo spiritual poetic nonsense for a bout half an hour. I said good night and he tried to kiss me and I turned just enough that he kissed my cheek. Then I embraced him. I got to say though, It was a powerful moment and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Leave a Reply

