Skip to content

Burning Love

January 20, 2009

The Knitters show on Saturday night was amazing. Dave Alvin was in fine form, DJ made a ton of noise on just a single drum, snare, and tub, and the stand up bass player had amazing hair. It was good to see John and Exene. John doesn’t appear to age really and he can still hit every note. Exene looked a little fragile but in the best shape I’ve seen her in a long time. Most of all, though…it was that harmony. I’m not sure how to explain the John/Exene vocal thing. The blending of their two voices is one of my favorite things ever in rock. Ever. Burning House of Love made both bin and I a little misty, in the best ways. Sharing the night with Kelly and Christine was very cool. Sharing it with them AND my girl made it something I’ll never forget. One of the best concerts I’ve ever seen. Below find a pic of John and Dave that Miss bin snapped. Cool, no?doe

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 3:16 pm

    thanks for the props on the pic. you know what, I still have a warm vibratey feeling all through my gutty wuts from the show….

  2. Shane permalink
    January 20, 2009 10:10 pm

    That was a fucking awesome show. I’m with you on their combined vocal power. Typically duet-style singing works for the odd song or two here or there w/ notable exception (John and June, for example).

    Paul Weller gets my vote for the most handsome and ageless rockstar, but John Doe is certainly high on the list.

Leave a Reply

