Skip to content

“Televsion: Teacher, mother, secret lover.”

January 25, 2009

I cancelled my directv today after perhaps 12 yrs as a customer. I’m not getting any channels on my tv. None.

I did this in the name of fiscal moderation and because I rarely watch TV at home. But I suddenly feel deprived of a security blanket. TV has been there since I was old enough to turn on the black and white in our living room. TV was there when I was a latch-key kid. TV raised me. It nutured me. And now I feel it’s loss. Sure I can watch some channels on my PC, and sure I get a feed of movies I can watch from Netflix, but it’s not the same. I can’t just plop on the couch and hit the on button.

And now…now I’m jittery.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. The Commodore permalink
    January 26, 2009 12:08 am

    You pussy. Sack up!

    I cancelled my online subscription to the WSJ last month, and I bet I’ve had that subscription about as long as you’ve been watching color TV.

    The last few weeks in the WSJ have been a strange eulogy to the Old White Guy club, and I finally had enough after a recent op-ed piece tried to make the point that the best economic stimulus package would be to drastically increase defense spending.

    I can’t make this stuff up folks.

  2. January 26, 2009 6:20 am

    I broke the TV habit in 1987, I learned to plop on the couch and read a book or listen to the radio (NPR or BBC), and until I got married a year and half ago did not live in a place with a TV. We finally got rid of the one my wife had. But I got to say, if it weren’t for HBO, Showtime and especially Cinemax when I was in junior high school I’d have known even less about sex. Then, of course if you jiggled the switcher box just right you could get a snowy black and white Playboy channel. I spent years looking for a fuzzy black and white girl that held that static allure.

  3. Scoobs permalink
    January 26, 2009 6:31 am

    I am proud of you and yet sad for you at the same time. Sure I get joy from reading and stuff, but I really enjoy TV. Some weeks I actually wish I had more time to watch more of it. Without TV I wouldn’t know who the final Cylon was or who shot JR. TV Adds to my life, but you are going to be fine. You can come over to get your fix plus scifi.com, cbs.com, abc.com, hulu, etc. all can do you right.

  4. David permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:19 am

    I’ve done this I think three times (two voluntary, one involuntary when my X-wife took the TV).

    It’s always been a bit weird at first and then, actually rather nice. Life definitely looks different. Too bad you did this right before the Superbowl though. We went for about 6 months without TV last year and that was one of the few annoyances.

    Of course, there’s always Netflix if you get bored.

  5. Christine F. permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:21 am

    I think you will do fine, but I do shutter at the thought of not having my friendly little Tivo. I have a feeling Robin’s tiny tv will be getting watched more. =)

  6. January 26, 2009 4:52 pm

    Hey, every TV show worth giving time to comes out on DVD right after the season is over. So you gonna tell me you miss the commercials???

Leave a Reply

