Skip to content

Gastronomics.

February 18, 2009

Miss bin and I visited LuLou’s in Reno on Saturday evening. LuLou’s is somewhat widely regarded among foodie types as having the best dinner in Reno. bin remembers, vividly, when I’d derided it in the past…something about me thinking it was a French food joint. The Commodore and his lovely bride have repeatedly recommended it, so I took the plunge and secured a Valentine’s day reservation in December.

Wow.

***If you are anti-foodie, please feel free to skip to the end***

We started with drinks at the bar, followed by a hamachi ceviche for me and foie gras for her. The ceviche was amazing and fresh, the foie gras decadent and rich and lovely. We split a “February Salad” which was red cabbage, blood oranges, fresh mozzarella, pomegranate seeds and a vinaigrette. Dazzling. Dinner for me was lightly seared Ahi. Delicious and delovely. She had some amazingly tasty duck. Dessert was an insanely clever chocolate tart with caramel for me and cheesecake served in a crock for her. Oh..and wine.

***Anti-foodies please resume reading here***

It was not cheap. Not even remotely cheap. But it was delicious and clever and bright and inventive and tasted like a million bucks. Easily one of the best meals I’ve had in a decade and probably the best meal I’ve had in Reno. I can’t recommend it highly enough. So there.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine F. permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:49 am

    awesome choice for a valentine’s surprise. Sounds tasty.

  2. February 24, 2009 4:32 pm

    This is what I remember…: “I want to try Lulou’s someday.” “I don’t like french food.” Then fast forward to you tasting my fois grois. yummmmmm… THANKS!

Leave a Reply

