Skip to content

Sanxian Hoedown

February 25, 2009

This video is joyful. I needed joyful this morning and this hit it out of the park. Katy Hill, a fine old mountain tune if there ever was one, as performed by The Red Chamber musicians. I love the Sanxian player.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    February 25, 2009 10:36 am

    Hoedowns are the kind of music people make when left to themselves to make music. While they can be displays of skill, they aren’t ego-centric, each member gets their turn.

    I like me a hoedown.

  2. February 26, 2009 5:37 am

    At first I found this funny, then realized it was due to a cultural juxtaposition of images: I’m not used to seeing Asian women in Asian fashion playing bluegrass. I think if I saw the guys in the back playing music of a traditional Chinese or Japanese style on banjos and guitars it would look almost as funny, though not quite because white musicians have borrowed from, or ripped off, just about every style of music on the planet and we are more used to them doing it (e.g. Peter Gabriel, Paul Simon, Rye Cooder, UB40, Elvis, ad infinitum)

  3. February 26, 2009 6:43 pm

    I once asked my mentor Andy, “What mic would you use to record a banjo?” He replied, “It doesn’t matter, it’ll still sound like a fucking banjo.”

Leave a Reply

