Skip to content

Straight, not terribly narrow

March 23, 2009

I was raised with an abject fear of drugs. Between school, church, and home I was convinced that one puff of marijuana was going to leave you dying on skid row. Or something. Despite the healthy skepticism I had about everything else I’m not sure why this was left to stand…but it did. Odd. Regardless, I’ve just finished reading Martin Torgoff’s marvelous Can’t Find My Way Home: America in the Great Stoned Age, 1945-2000. It’s a great book. An important book. It tells the story of drugs in America, the good, the bad, the ugly, the mundane. I wish that every drug “policy” person in America could read this, digest it. I wish that every high school student in America could read this as well. Check it out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 11:48 pm

    I’ll check it out. The title reminds me of a song I wrote a few years back for my yet-another-band-that-didn’t-quite-get-off-the-ground group The Shadow Bullets:

    So drunk I thought I was Jesus
    Too stoned to stay awake
    I had a good idea
    to go walking on the lake
    but all it did was get me wet
    and chill me too the bone
    and the only miracle I performed
    was finding my way home.

Leave a Reply

