Skip to content

Chick Peas, Man

April 2, 2009

bin, Scoobs and myself tried out the new Mediterranean food joint in Reno last night. The decor is pretty bad inside and out, and the ambiance is nothing special but the food…well…dang if the food isn’t pretty good. We had a wonderful hummus with some plain but garlicky naan to start. bin had a falafel which totally confounded me. I’ll readily admit that I’m no expert on this type of food but I associate the word falafel with meat. It isn’t. I’m sure I’m not telling any of my loyal readers anything new, but a falafel is fried chickpeas or fava beans, usually wrapped in a pita-type bread. She was quite fond of her meal. Scoobs had the veggie appetizer combo which consisted of little dishes of babaganoush, kalamta olives, falafel (still not meat), more hummus, and rice stuffed grape leaves. I tried the gyro platter which I was pretty pleased with. The entire meal was solid, tasty, and inexpensive. Not anything earth shattering, but well done. I’d suggest you give it a try if you are into that sort of thing.

Oh, and as a bonus we got to meet Chef Maurice, the culinary mastermind behind Naan & Kabob. Awesome ponytail.

Here is a link.

(Update: Falafel is *still* not meat.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 11:05 pm

    The joint I most patronize during the week is Mediterranean. I’ve tried a lot of other Greek places, but everything pales compared to George’s. Especially his falafel… not greasy. Oh, and not meat.

  2. Suz permalink
    April 9, 2009 2:04 pm

    Thanks for the review, B! I’ve been wanting to try this place, and after your review, I still do! BTW, tried Hiroba Sushi last weekend and I think I’ve found my new favorite sushi bar in Reno. I can’t recommend it highly enough!!

  3. Alan permalink
    April 20, 2009 10:22 pm

    I had some nice falafel and hummus Sunday in the place where Misa and I got engaged. (The story goes, I asked if she wanted another bite of falafel and she misunderstood and said, I do) I’ve been a fan of falafel and this type of food since New York, but being a rather sheltered western-southerner, when I frist got to NYC and kept seeing these signs for Falafel all over I assumed it was some kind of,well, waffle. Good stuff. Find a lebanese restaurant, they seem to make the best. the spiced grilled lamb kababs are nice!

Leave a Reply

